Sweet, Sweet Strawberries

Wonderful memories of these little red bites of deliciousness come flooding back to me each Spring as I smell these little red beauties.  Early in April, I drive to  my local berry farm to see if the shack has flung open the wide windows for business.  I used to buy a flat of berries at least every two weeks.  I couldn’t wait to wash the berries; at least five were missing from the baskets by the time I pulled in my driveway.  Over the years, the price has continually gone up, so much so that I really can’t justify buying them. 

When my parents moved to Bakersfield twenty-two years ago, they hadn’t discovered the small three-acre farm yet.  It would be another ten years before someone mentioned the stand to them.  Ever since then, my dad couldn’t wait for strawberry season.  He loves strawberries more than just about any other fruit, except maybe peaches.  He loves strawberry short-cake, strawberries on his cereal, and just by themselves in a bowl.  The best thing about this stand is that they have the best berries, and for the best price anywhere.  Generosity is their strong suit, as you can’t carry the flat for fear the berries will spill onto the floor.

On my way up today, Steve and I stopped hoping the stand would be open.  We were pleasantly surprised.  My dad’s eyes lit up when he saw me walking in the door with my hands full of berries.  In no time at all, I had a bowl full of washed fruit.  I made a quick run to the market for some type of cake and whipped cream.  Soon, the bowl was empty.  Yum, yum.

~ by joandayimages on April 18, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
George's Custom Cabinets

Custom Cabinets to Beautify your Home

