Cob-a-doodle-do

A trip to the local Farmers’ Market proved to be a winner, today.  I usually head over the one on Lakewood Blvd. in Bellflower, occasionally, on Mondays.  For probably fifteen years, I have been buying the day-old bread left over from the Sundays’ Farmers’ Markets around town.  The Old Town Baking Co. sells all types of bread at every market I’ve ever been to, but I love that I can buy the sourdough for one dollar on Monday instead of the regular price.  There is no sugar or preservatives in the loaves.  This allows me to buy the organic fruits and vegetables.  If I don’t grow it in my garden, then I purchase it here, if I can.  Today, I splurged and bought a beautiful watermelon (with seeds).  I truly believe it is the best watermelon I have ever eaten.  At $12.00, it better be.  Also, this large,  juicy melon was one of the smallest there was of this variety.  I had to ask the girl next to me, “Does this watermelon make my butt look smaller?”  She just laughed.

So, off I went to see what else I could find with my extra bread money.  Corn on the cob was $.50 a piece, and well worth it.  I couldn’t wait for dinner, so Tara and I each had an ear for lunch.  But, before I could microwave it in its natural husk, I had to snap a picture of it.  For a listing of a Certified Farmers’ Markets in your area,  click on this link.  For more info, please visit www.JoanDayImages.com

~ by joandayimages on July 25, 2011.

Leave a Reply

 
George's Custom Cabinets

Custom Cabinets to Beautify your Home

