Alyssa’s Birthday Blanky

  If you have been following my blog, I’m sure you know how upset I was yesterday.  Medications do funny things to people, and everyone reacts differently to each one.  I’m glad to have gotten that all straightened out.  Like I may have said somewhere else, what a difference 24 hours can make.  Steve, my loving husband, came up last night… for me.  But today, we jumped into action and took apart Dad’s bed, delivered it to the Good Will, and I cleaned the bedroom and got it all ready for Dad’s hospital bed.  It really doesn’t look much different from a regular bed…nothing like the ones in the actual hospital.

After all our chores, and Dad ate dinner, we sat out on the patio while I finished, yet, another unfinished project.  I love all my neighbors on our block.  So, when Paul and Adriana had their first daughter, Veronica, I made a rag quilt with her name and birthdate embroidered in the corner.  In just a few short years, along came Alyssa.  I had great intentions on having her quilt done by the time she was born.  That didn’t happen.  I had everything in a bag just waiting for the time to sew it together, cut all the raw edges and wash it three times to make those edges fray like a used pair of cut-off Levis.  It sat in the bag for nearly three years.  I believe she will be three on the 14th of May, which is tomorrow. 

 What a fantastic time it is for me to get my unfinished projects done.  Dad, Steve and I, sat out on the patio this evening while I did my cutting.  It’s all finished except the corner square where I will embroider it the next time I’m home, which will be this week, hopefully.  Then into the washer and dryer, and then a gift bag, and finally, a short walk across the street. 

Happy Birthday, Alyssa.

~ by joandayimages on May 13, 2011.

2 Responses to “Alyssa’s Birthday Blanky”

  1. How lucky are we to have moved into a neighborhood with such amazing neighbors! You are so amazing Joan, thank you for your kindness and thoughtfulness. Our daughter Veronica loves her quilt and I know Alyssa will feel extra special to have one of her own! We look forward to seeing you.

Leave a Reply

 
George's Custom Cabinets

Custom Cabinets to Beautify your Home

