Drummer Boy

What a day!!  Today. I held my first “official” workshop.  Tomorrow is my second one.  Hopefully my voice will hold out.

We started out at my favorite park, El Dorado Park, and spent the morning getting as much done as possible.  We were distracted by all the beautiful birds…you would know how beautiful they were if you have been looking at some of my recent posts.  The beautiful Blue Heron walked up to us and came within three feet of us, and just stood there while everyone took pictures.  We continued until lunch, had a fantastic picnic lunch, and headed to our next location.  On the way out of the park, on the west side, I couldn’t believe what I saw.  A nice young man had parked and taken his complete drum set and set it up right on the side of the road.  His earphones were in his ears, and he was going to town. He was really good, too.

I quickly pulled over and said, “I can’t believe it!!! I have my picture for the day!!”  I was so excited.  I pointed to my camera, and he nodded yes to allow me to shoot.  I took a few wide shots, then zoomed in a bit, then slanted the camera.  I didn’t have what I wanted.  I needed to get a better, more interesting angle.  I had the camera on Auto, leaned my arm in under the drum set, and clicked away.  I love this shot because his arm wasn’t in front of his face…he was playing pretty fast, and most had his arm in the way. 

I got one of my business cards and gave it him.  I let him know to e-mail me for the shots.  I hope he likes this one.  I thanked him, and we were on our way.

I am bushed!!!!!  We sure had a lot of fun all day and all evening.  Looking forward to tomorrow, as well.

~ by joandayimages on February 6, 2011.

One Response to “Drummer Boy”

  1. Joan – You are the best teacher and so energetic!! Thank you for sharing your mastery of photography…I am so happy with what I was able to do. Thank you for your patience while myh brain uploaded all the info you gave us!!

Leave a Reply

 
George's Custom Cabinets

Custom Cabinets to Beautify your Home

