Moon Eyes

Today, I had no idea that the picture I was going to post would be of a landmark from my childhood.

This afternoon, I had the pleasure of photographing Michaela’s college graduation pictures in Santa Fe Springs, CA.  While driving down a familiar street, I spotted the famous Moon Eyes Store.  The yellow building has been perched near the corner of Norwalk Blvd. and Florence Ave. ever since I was a young child.  I can’t remember it changing in any way at all.  The big eyes that are displayed out front catch your eye and make you wonder what it is that they do.  We never knew as children, but rode our Sting-Ray bikes there once in a while.  The guys were kind enough to give us some stickers which we proudly displayed on our Pee-Chee folders.  Now I know they make the famous moon discs that go on your rims, among other items.  They even carry cool ones for bikes.

I started laughing as soon as I saw the brightly lit eyes.  I knew these eyes would make it into today’s post.  They are such cheerful eyes, sort of dancing eyes.

Michaela was a very good sport and greatly added to my picture of my old friend, Moon Eyes.

~ by joandayimages on January 22, 2011.

2 Responses to “Moon Eyes”

  1. Looking forward to going out for a shoot with you so you can show me how to get results like this with flash at night. In the meantime, I’ve been doing some some flash experimentation of my own.

Leave a Reply

 
George's Custom Cabinets

Custom Cabinets to Beautify your Home

